Can’t We All Just Get Along?

I first used Red Hog Diary to think out loud in 2005. It worked like therapy for me and was much less expensive. I retired the domain in 2008 I suppose in part because I liked the way the country was heading and I felt safe. That was then. I’m back. I suppose in part because I… well that’s maybe not important. I don’t have a mission writing here other than to seek a little validation that I’m not alone in my thoughts. So thanks for reading.
The election of Trump and his continued sophomoric misbehavior have created a national cognitive dissonance that is at once embarrassing and alarming. I’ve been wrestling with the resultant emotions as each day brings increasingly childish tweets and the obvious lack of preparedness of Trump to do this job.
Those are some pretty outrageous feelings aren’t they? I mean, I literally struggle with questioning if I’m blowing things way out of context one moment and if I’m absolutely not doing enough to defend our way of life the next. Yeah, it’s that scary sometimes. A lot of people just want everyone to calm down and see what happens. I get it. Hostilities and defensiveness are running at an all time high among families, friends and acquaintances.img_0025
I get messages and comments from friends asking me to stop, to give Trump a chance, they want me to shut up. You know what I want? I want Trump supporters and Congress to acknowledge that our president must support our intelligence agencies always and Vladimir Putin never. When Trump goes off on childish twitter rants we should agree we expect more from the President of the United States of America. When Trump demagogues all press and favors only those agencies who are complimentary of him we need to expect more. I could do this all night but you should get the idea by now. Oh one more thing. If you want us to come together then when Donald Trump lies you need to say, “Yep. That was a lie.”
If all grown adults in this country would agree to hold our president elect to the standards that the office of the President of the United States of America commands I might calm down some. I’ll meet you half way. Let’s come together by holding all of our elected officials accountable to we the people and not to Goldman Sachs, Exxon and mother Russia. This isn’t that hard people.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • Hit Counter

    • 10,460 hits
  • blogstones
  • Recent Posts

  • Fair Use Notice:

    This web site contains copyrighted material the use of which has not always been specifically authorized by the copyright owner. We are making such material available in our efforts to advance understanding of environmental, political, human rights, economic, democracy, scientific, and social justice issues, etc. We believe this constitutes a 'fair use' of any such copyrighted material as provided for in section 107 of the US Copyright Law. In accordance with Title 17 U.S.C. Section 107, the material on this site is distributed without profit to those who have expressed a prior interest in receiving the included information for research and educational purposes. For more information go to: www.law.cornell.edu If you wish to use copyrighted material from this site for purposes of your own that go beyond 'fair use', you must obtain permission from the copyright owner.