It’s Time To Find Joy.

I hate this time. I hate the all the uncertainty, the hostility and divisiveness. It’s like I need a reality check. It’s my nature to be a people pleaser, a positive attitude guy and encourager. I don’t feel like that guy anymore, I no longer feel like who I am. It’s not just in my head. People from my past, people I love, people I respect are telling me I’ve changed. Some can’t handle it and are cutting ties. They seem to miss the old me who was mostly positive and light hearted. So do I.
Thing is, for some of us, the world turned upside on November 8. That’s not hyperbole. For civil rights voters the partnership of Steve Bannon, Reince Priebus, and Donald Trump was about as scary as anything imaginable. That fear was manifested in the rhetoric of these men’s life’s work. We took them at their word and to date there has been no evidence that our fears were unwarranted.
So here we are.
Time to find the good in our predicament. And we need to find inclusive good. Almost half of the electorate that was made up of less than half of eligible voters wanted this change. A portion of those may be having second Tumblr- Inspirethoughts and others remain committed only because they are so wrapped up in finally having some power over hated liberals that they are willing to overlook nearly anything. Hopefully the latter will come around at some point. I say all that as confirmation that most Americans didn’t sign up for this presidency and resistance holds promise.
So what do we do in the meantime?
I look back at the times in my life where I felt the most joy and when I was most fulfilled; The least scared for my brothers and sisters. Those times always incorporated a combination of working toward attainable goals and being of service to others. It was at those times in my life where I subjugated complacency and self service to working toward a larger purpose that I found peace and joy.  That works perfectly with what these times call for. Those of us longing to feel grounded with purpose can find it in standing up against oppression and disenfranchisement. Those of us suffering an impending sense of dread can focus on lifting others from the same sense.
I’m going to seek out opportunities to spread joy, to lift up, to support others more shaken or vulnerable than me. We had a safety pin movement not too long ago. Not sure if that’s still a thing but my safety pin is going to be a smile, a greeting, an acknowledgement that we are all seen, noticed and appreciated. If there is ugliness I will stand up to it. Where there is hatred I will show love. None of that will change. Now that my feet are back under me maybe those who have cut ties with me can meet me part way and recognize that we are first children of God. We are second part of a global humanity and the least of what we are is defined by political differences.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • Hit Counter

    • 10,181 hits
  • blogstones
  • Recent Posts

  • Fair Use Notice:

    This web site contains copyrighted material the use of which has not always been specifically authorized by the copyright owner. We are making such material available in our efforts to advance understanding of environmental, political, human rights, economic, democracy, scientific, and social justice issues, etc. We believe this constitutes a 'fair use' of any such copyrighted material as provided for in section 107 of the US Copyright Law. In accordance with Title 17 U.S.C. Section 107, the material on this site is distributed without profit to those who have expressed a prior interest in receiving the included information for research and educational purposes. For more information go to: www.law.cornell.edu If you wish to use copyrighted material from this site for purposes of your own that go beyond 'fair use', you must obtain permission from the copyright owner.