Help Me?

It’s time to get serious a again. Struggling with obesity has been a defining element of my life. There are so many more pressing considerations in the lives of my readers to be sure. And yet, within the context of the external challenges we share, we all have those personal inner demons we must face. While the world seems to burn around us we must take care of ourselves. Bear with me. img_0053
I once weighed 499 pounds. Somehow, in 2011, I found it in me to reject that version of myself and managed to lose 288 pounds. By 2014 I got within 12 pounds of my ultimate goal of being under 200 pounds. For whatever reason I lost track of the internal motivators that drove me. I accepted the external rewards of feeling good, looking better and being able to buy clothes off the rack at any store. I had arrived or nearly arrived and became complacent. This morning I jumped on the scale and it tipped at 301.6 pounds. How could I have let that happen? How had I missed the warning signs as clothes no longer fit and then the replacement clothes did not fit.
img_0052I could feel sorry for myself. I choose instead to honestly examine where I’ve gone wrong. What did I do that worked so well in the past? For starters I counted on my friends. My “accountabilibuddies” as I used to refer to you. I used social media to post my weight weekly. The “I” in me, based on the DISC assessment, perfectly explains why that worked for me. My desire to influence others and the fear of disapproval of others was a strong driver. So I’m going to do that again. Monday morning Facebook weigh-ins are coming back. I will count on you to encourage our admonish me as appropriate. This wasn’t an easy decision to make. So many of you followed me and encouraged me along the way. It is not img_0054without some humiliation that I share my backslide.
I plan to reserve Saturday postings on Red Hog Diary for this journey and will welcome your comments. If anyone wants to join me we can do this together. My goal will be to finally attain that 199 pound weigh-in on January 1st. And then we will transform this space to maintenance strategies. Here we go. Who’s with me?

7 Comments

  1. I’m with you Chris! I have to accept that healthy eating and exercising daily will help my body, mind and spirit! It’s not a one time achievement. As cliche as it sounds it has to be a lifestyle and daily practice. Not that I can’t have a glass of wine or a peanut butter cookie or chocolate – I just to need to balance it out with fruits and veggies!

  2. I’m with ya Chris! I started January 3rd to seriously lose this extra baggage once and for all! I’m down 21 lbs and I’m not giving in this time!! I know the struggle!! You are a great motivator and look forward to taking on the journey with you! Janine.

  3. You’ve got this, Chris!

  4. My brother! Don’t hold back! Let’s rock this ride!

  5. Thank you Sheryl! Congratulations! So much of this journey depends on or framed of mind. The right self talk and motivations are key to maintenance. I understand that better now. Let’s go!

  6. I’m all in! You can expect accountability and more importantly support.

  7. Chris, I know the pain of your struggle as it is my struggle too. Your journey was the inspiration for me to get serious about my own weight loss in December, 2015. It has been a long road but I am 0.2 pounds from my goal weight. I will get there but then comes the challenge of maintenance. We can do this together!


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • Hit Counter

    • 10,810 hits
  • blogstones
  • Recent Posts

  • Fair Use Notice:

    This web site contains copyrighted material the use of which has not always been specifically authorized by the copyright owner. We are making such material available in our efforts to advance understanding of environmental, political, human rights, economic, democracy, scientific, and social justice issues, etc. We believe this constitutes a 'fair use' of any such copyrighted material as provided for in section 107 of the US Copyright Law. In accordance with Title 17 U.S.C. Section 107, the material on this site is distributed without profit to those who have expressed a prior interest in receiving the included information for research and educational purposes. For more information go to: www.law.cornell.edu If you wish to use copyrighted material from this site for purposes of your own that go beyond 'fair use', you must obtain permission from the copyright owner.